Stop Sitting Still in Church!

837398_blogI grew up in a legalistic church where skirts for girls were required, hair over a boy’s ear was forbidden, and musical instruments in worship were scandalous.  Although I was allowed to participate in an underground Amy Grant album exchange, my family characteristically abided by the demands of the church.  Especially on Sunday.

Since high school, middle school, and children’s worship services were non-existent, I sat in the adult service from the time I was old enough to understand and obey the meaning of “Shhhh.”  As I grew older, I was extended the privilege of sitting with the families of friends, and eventually sitting with a group of friends (without adult supervision).  However, my mother was never far away.   One unchecked giggle or untimely note would launch her from her pew into the seat directly between me and the conspiring culprit in the blink of an eye.  There is only a certain amount of public humiliation even the strongest of wills can withstand before curtailing to that kind of punishment.  I was more obedient natured and came into line after only a few minor offenses.

Here was the routine:  Sit straight, ankles crossed, feet on the floor (no swinging), hands in in your lap, eyes forward, face exerting a best effort to mask boredom and feign interest.  During worship, we would stand or sit (as directed), songbook raised for neighbors to share waiting for the note on the pitch pipe. Then sing – you always, always sing.

Ironically enough, I believe this experience, and the necessity of findng my Sunday entertainment within the notes on the page, has contributed to my love and appreciation of music.  Music moves me, speaks to me, and reaches my heart like nothing else.  Now that I have been released form the chains of legalistic worship, I am aware that music ushers me into God’s presence like nothing else.  Although it has taken years of worshiping in a contemporary christian environment (surprisingly, without additional therapy), I have finally moved beyond being offended by the band on stage, being distracted by others’ non-conforming motion, and being worried about the eyes and ears of others. I have, after all these years, found a truly worshipful participation in the service on Sunday morning.  I’ve even been known to clap, sway, or raise a hand on occasion.  Because I know that it is a relational expression between God and myself.  All the other stuff is just details.  Worship, for me, is about relationship.

Flash forward to today: Today I sat with my family in the contemporary worship service of our mega-church behind a row of teenagers from various families we know and love.  The difference between myself at their age and their easy-going banter during the announcements, oblivious to anyone around them, stood  in stark contrast to my mind.  I’ve known these “kids” since they were pre-adolescent.  I know, for the most part, they have grown up with this experience, not knowing the stifling restrictions of an old-fashioned “traditional” service.  They have the freedom to express themselves in whatever way suits their personal style.

I found my self observing them with a thankful heart.  I was thankful for their liberty on their behalf.  When the music began and the words appeared on the over-sized screen above, they sang.

They sang, alright.  They sang with their arms at their sides, hands motionless, shoulders slumped, and faces stoically turned towards the front.  They sang lifeless notes aimed at . . . what?  I’m not sure.  A few began to show signs of true worship, but the rest resembled that teenage girl in the legalistic church I once knew.  The one I had finally escaped from.  Maybe they were self-conscious, you say.  Maybe they don’t have a love of music like I do.  I know these kids.  They are the most self-confident group of teens I have ever met.  And they LOVE music.

As I watched, I felt a stirring similar to that my mother must have felt when I was “acting out” in church.  I wanted to launch from my seat, land smack in the middle of them, and yell “Stop sitting still in church! Show God how much you love Him. Talk to Him.  Relate to Him, Meet Him here.  He’s waiting for you!”  They had the freedom to meet God face to face in their hearts and they were missing it!  Not that it’s necessary to dance in the pews to express themselves, but some light of worship should at least dawn in their eyes.

It made me stop and think.  Perhaps it’s not about the experience – traditional or contemporary.  Perhaps it’s not about the freedom – legalistic or modern.  Perhaps it’s about finding true “worship” – the degree of intimacy in your relationship with God that causes a natural expression of your faith.  Have you found “worship?”  What does it look like for you?  Where do you find yourself closest to the heart of God?

Please share – What does “worship” mean to you?

2 Responses

  1. Enjoyed your post. You might like to read about the Church of the Exceptional. We played there yesterday.

    My blog link is: drtombibey.wordpress.com

    Dr. B

Leave a comment